The Exposome of PFAS

Separation Science, in collaboration with SCIEX presents a PFAS webinar series.

Date: 7 October, 2020

Start Times:
Broadcast 1:Broadcast 1: 10.30am EDT (New York) / 3.30pm BST (London) / 4.30pm CEST (Paris)

Broadcast 2:Broadcast 2: 12pm PDT (Los Angeles) / 2pm CDT (Chicago) / 3pm EDT (New York)

Duration: Approximately 60 minutes

Presenters:
Simon Roberts (Senior Application Scientist, SCIEX)
Simon specializes in developing methods for PFAS analysis at SCIEX for both targeted and non-targeted analysis. Before working at SCIEX, Simon performed PFAS discovery research at Colorodo School of Mines during his poctdoctoral fellowship. He worked on projects that identified dozens of novel PFAS in groundwater and industrial chemicals. Recently, Simon has focused on educating the public about PFAS via his YouTube Channel "Environmental Chemistry Explained".

Christian Lindh (Senior Lecturer at Occupational and Environmental Medicine, Lund University)
Christian has an extensive experience in method development of various biological and environmental monitoring techniques using mainly mass spectrometry as an analytical tool. He studies human exposure to toxicants in the general environment and at occupational settings, and to evaluate their impact on the human body. A particular focus has been on epidemiological studies using biobanked samples using small volumes. He has been involved in many studies about PFAS exposure for the past 10 years.

Sponsor:


 

 

   

Register for this upcoming learning event...

Per- and polyfluorinated alkyl substances (PFAS) are a group of complex human-made chemicals that repel both oil and water, and persist throughout the environment. Concerns about the health dangers posed by these contaminants, along with the possibility of biological toxicity of legacy PFAS, such as perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA), perfluorooctanoic sulfonic acid (PFOS) and perfluroroalkyl acids (PFAA), have led to the production of alternatives including hexafluoropropylene oxide-dimer acid (HFPO-DA), commonly referred to as GenX.

Yet, the same health concerns on the potential toxicity of human exposure to these chemicals continues. Researchers are now expanding their research areas to study the presence of these chemicals in human blood.

By attending these presentations you will be provided with:

  • An overview of PFAS - what it is, its analytical characteristics and an introduction to PFAS analysis using LC-MS/MS along with some hidden tips and tricks to get the best from your workflow
  • Some practical applications of blood and urine concentrations and toxicokinetics of PFAS in various human populations

Presentation #1:
Basics of PFAS Analysis using LC-MS/MS Technology

Presentation #2:
Analysis of Concentrations of PFAS in Biological Samples from Human Populations

The presentations are ideal for:

  • Exposomics laboratory scientists and QA/QC managers working in the environmental and clinical research areas
  • Those involved in method development, interested in implementing and optimizing PFAS or any other environmental contaminant applications
  • Those interested in learning about the findings surrounding PFAS

 

To register for this upcoming webinar series please complete the form on the right. By clicking the 'Register to attend live webinar' button, you submit your information to the webinar organizer, who as an independent content provider to analytical and laboratory scientists, will use it to communicate with you regarding this event and other similar platforms run in collaboration with other parties.

Registrants to this webinar are covered by the Eclipse Business Media Privacy Policy.