Achieve Unmatched Adsorption using Carboxen® Synthetic Carbon: A Derivatized Resin for Process and Preparative Chromatography

Separation Science, in collaboration with the life science business of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany offers an upcoming webinar highlighting the advantages and value of synthetic carbon separation media in both liquid and gas purifications.

To register simply complete the form to the right of this page.

Date: 4 October, 2022

Start Times: 
Broadcast #1: 10 am BST (London/Lisbon) / 11 am CEST (Paris/Berlin) / 2:30 pm IST (Mumbai) / 5  pm SGT (Singapore) / 5 pm CST (Beijing) / 6 pm JST (Tokyo)
Broadcast #2: 9 am PDT (Los Angeles) / 11 am CDT (Chicago) / 12 pm EDT (New York)

Duration: Approximately 1 hour

Presenter:
Joe AbrahamsonJoe_Abrahamson_80
(Global Product Manager, Carbon Adsorbents and LPLC, MilliporeSigma
)


Dr. Joe Abrahamson received his Ph.D. from Penn State, where he studied carbon materials and engineering. Before joining MilliporeSigma, Joe spent several years in the carbon and materials industries as an R&D scientist. Presently, Joe is the Global Product Manager for Carbon Adsorbents and LPLC at MilliporeSigma. Joe enjoys splitting his time between product management and product development.

Sponsor:

MSIG_RGreen_RGB

 

 

 

 

Event Overview

Activated carbons are widely used for purification and separation applications. However, they are not employable as chromatography media due to the lack of chemical purity, irregular shape, poor mechanical integrity, and lack of reproducibility.

Carboxen® synthetic carbon adsorbents are a synthetic form of activated carbon. These synthetic carbons are derivatized resins. Due to their high purity, spherical shape, and outstanding mechanical properties, Carboxen® synthetic carbon adsorbents are well suited for use in low-pressure liquid chromatography (LPLC) applications. This chromatography media can withstand pressures up to 110 MPa, which is several orders of magnitude greater than other LPLC media. The tapered pores improve the adsorbent’s kinetic and thermodynamic efficiency, enabling greater capacity while operating at increased throughputs. The highly engineered, derivatized resins bring value in both adsorption and hydrophobic interaction chromatography.

These media bring value to a wide range of LPLC applications for both small and large molecule separations. As example, these adsorbents are used for clearance of high-risk impurities in biochemical purifications such as host cell proteins, trace metals, and extractables and leachables. These synthetic carbons have been trusted by NASA on several missions including their use on the International Space Station.

By attending this presentation you will...

  • learn about the features, advantages, and benefits of synthetic carbon separation media
  • understand how a carbon media derived from resin offers a unique stationary phase
  • discover several applications in both liquid and gas purifications where synthetic carbons bring value.

To register for this upcoming event please complete the form on the right. 

Registrants to this webinar are covered by the Eclipse Business Media Privacy Policy. Information you provide will be shared with the sponsors for this content. Eclipse Business Media Ltd may contact you to offer you content based on your specific interests. You may opt-out at any time.

The life science business of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany operates as MilliporeSigma in the U.S. and Canada.