Comprehensive Two-Dimensional Liquid Chromatography (LC×LC)
for the Analysis of Bioactive Compounds in Foodstuffs

To register for this upcoming webinar complete the form to the right of this page:

Date: 24 October, 2019

Start Times:
Broadcast #1: 10 am BST (London) / 11 am CEST (Paris) / 2.30 pm Mumbai / 5 pm Singapore

Broadcast #2: 10 am PDT (California) / 1 pm EDT (New York)

Duration: 50 minutes

Speaker:
Luigi Mondello
University of Messina, Italy
Prof. Luigi Mondello is Full Professor of Analytical Chemistry at the Chemical, Biological, Pharmaceutical and Environmental Sciences Department of the University of Messina, Italy. He is the author of about 521 publications and 1255 conference presentations, co-editor of the books “Multidimensional Chromatography” and “Citrus oil: Composition, Advanced Analytical Techniques, Contaminants, and Biological Acitivity”, and editor of the book “Comprehensive Chromatography in Combination with Mass Spectrometry”. His research interests include high-resolution chromatography techniques (HRGC, HPLC, HRGC-MS, HPLC-MS, OPLC) and the development of hyphenated (LC-GCMS, GC-GC) and multidimensional “comprehensive” (GC×GC, LC×LC) techniques and their applications to the study of natural complex matrices.

Sponsor:

 

Register for this upcoming learning event...

Food and natural products contain a plethora of bioactive molecules with beneficial effects on human health, including phenols, flavonoids, alkaloids and lipids. A number of studies have already focused on the chemistry and pharmacological activity of these products, but there is still much left in the discovery and characterization of novel compounds from different sources.

High efficient analytical methods are needed to achieve a reliable profiling of the bioactive constituents in foodstuffs, while at the same time being selective and sensitive enough to detect minor components, such as impurities and potential harmful molecules. In most cases, the huge complexity of foodstuffs overwhelm the separation/identification power of conventional one-dimensional liquid chromatography (1D-LC); a potential powerful alternative is comprehensive two-dimensional LC (LC×LC), involving the coupling of two or more orthogonal or quasi-orthogonal separation mechanisms.

Several LC×LC approaches using different column combinations (e.g., NP×RP, RP×RP and HILIC×RP) and instrumental set-up have been developed for this task, using dedicated software for data processing. Apart from the clear benefits in terms of separation/ identification power, high reproducibility and stable retention times were achieved. Hereby, selected LC×LC applications for the characterization of bioactive components in foodstuffs are illustrated.

By attending this webinar you will:

  • Understand the importance of foodstuffs as potential sources of bioactive molecules with beneficial effects on the human health.
  • Learn of the benefits provided by comprehensive two-dimensional LC techniques, for the separation/identification of complex matrices.
  • Learn how to implement LC×LC approaches using different column combinations (e.g. NP×RP, RP×RP and HILIC×RP) and instrumental set-ups.

To register for this upcoming webinar, please complete the form on the right. By clicking the 'Register to attend live webinar' button, you submit your information to the webinar organizer, who as an independent content provider to analytical and laboratory scientists, will use it to communicate with you regarding this event and other similar platforms run in collaboration with other parties.

Registrants to this webinar are covered by the Eclipse Business Media Privacy Policy.

The life science business of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany operates as MilliporeSigma in the U.S. and Canada.