BiotageWeb_110521_WebHeaderImagePerfecting Pcats – Developing a More Robust UHPLC-MS/MS Method for Plasma Catecholamines using Low Volume SPE

Separation Science, in collaboration with Biotage, presents a webinar that will cover typical plasma matrices and the effects of different sample pre-treatments, as well as describing different strategies for analyte enrichment to maintain method LOQs, using manual and automated low volume elution SPE procedures.

Date: 11 May, 2021

Start Times:
Broadcast 1: 12 pm SGT / 1 pm JST / 2 pm AEST /
4 pm NZST
Broadcast 2: 10 am BST / 11 am CEST / 2.30 pm IST
Broadcast 2: 10 am PDT / 12 pm CDT / 1 pm EDT

Duration: Approximately 1 hour

Presenter:
AdamSeniorWebAdam Senior
(Biotage GB Limited)
Adam is an analytical chemist with over twenty years’ method development experience in diverse industries. He is a Senior Scientist in the Innovation and Development group, having joined Biotage in 2011. Adam is involved in the development and validation of LC-MS/MS sample preparation assays incorporating solid-phase extraction and supported liquid extraction.

Sponsor:

Biotage-Logo

 

 

   

Achieving desired sensitivity for plasma catecholamines by LC-MS/MS can be challenging compared to established techniques such as electrochemical detection. Low clinical reference intervals often necessitate highly sensitive MS instruments. Maximum sensitivity and accuracy requires the removal of matrix components that interfere with analysis or suppress MS response (particularly phospholipids). Sample preparation clean-up and concentration enables clinical reference intervals to be met without the need for cumbersome derivatization steps, even when low volume samples are used.

Catecholamines are small highly polar analytes and require careful attention to pre-treatment and processing conditions, particularly pH and ionic strength in order to maximize analyte recovery. Selection of plasma anticoagulant can also have a significant effect on analyte stability and matrix interferences.

This webinar will discuss typical plasma matrices and the effects of different sample pre-treatments. The importance of analyte and sorbent pH control will be discussed along with selection of suitable approaches to maximize removal of matrix interferences and enhance method robustness. The final section will cover different strategies for analyte enrichment to maintain method LOQs, using manual and automated low volume elution SPE procedures.

By viewing this webinar you will gain:

  • an understanding of the challenges that can be encountered in determining plasma catecholamines
  • an introduction to low volume sample preparation strategies to overcome the challenges presented by endogenous small polar target analytes in the development of LC-MS/MS assays

 

To register for this webinar please complete the form on the right.

Registrants to this webinar are covered by the Eclipse Business Media Privacy Policy.