GC/MS Analysis of Aromatics in Gasoline using ASTM D5769:
Set-up, Optimization, and Automated Reporting

Separation Science, in collaboration with Agilent, offers an upcoming webinar describing best practices for setting up, optimizing, and running ASTM D5769 on a new, cost-effective GC/MS system. This webinar will broadcast three times.

Dates: 28 & 29 January, 2020

Start Times:
Broadcast #1: 28 January - 7 am PST / 10 am EST /
3 pm GMT / 4 pm CET

Broadcast #2: 28 January – 11 am PST / 2 pm EST

Broadcast # 3: 29 January – 8.30 am Mumbai / 11 am Singapore / 12 pm Tokyo / 2 pm Sydney

Duration: Approximately 60 minutes

Presenters
Jim McCurry is a senior applications chemist at Agilent specializing in analytical chemistry measurements for the chemical and refining industries. His current work is in multidimensional GC, trace analysis in complex matrices, and fast GC, and GC/MS.

Craig Marvin serves as the Business and Product Marketing Manager for GC, MS and Sample Containment supplies within the Agilent CrossLab Group. His team collaborates with internal & external stakeholders to update existing and develop new technology for improving system performance for analyses across the market segments served by Agilent.

Sponsor

   

Register for this upcoming learning event ...

The unavailability of fluorescence dye has impacted the widely used D1319 method for determining total aromatics in reformulated gasoline. To remain in compliance with EPA regulations, many labs are considering the more complex D5769 GC/MS method for total aromatics analysis.

Successful performance of a GC/MS system depends on good chromatography, an inert flow path, and low background signal, where the quality of the carrier gas, whether achieved with filters or high-grade gas supply, and leak free connections play important roles in flow path and low backgrounds. Easy-to-use products for monitoring gas filter lifetime and installing columns help in the set-up and routine operation to increase the uptime of the GC/MS system.

This presentation will offer best practices for setting up, optimizing, and running this method on a new, cost-effective GC/MS system. Data analysis approaches will also be discussed with emphasis on a new system for automated reporting of results.

By attending this webinar you will...

  • Understand the different ASTM configurations and operations of D5769
  • Learn techniques to optimize the Agilent 8860/5977 GC/MS system for running D5769
  • Understand how the 8860/5877 GC/MS system performs for different D5769 configurations

To register for this upcoming webinar simply complete the form on the right. By clicking the 'Register to attend live webinar' button, you submit your information to the webinar organizer, who as an independent content provider to analytical and laboratory scientists, will use it to communicate with you regarding this event and other similar platforms run in collaboration with other parties.

Registrants to this webinar are covered by the Eclipse Business Media Privacy Policy.