How to Go Fast and Make your Carrier Gas Last

By attending this webinar you will:

  • Learn how to speed up your GC (MS) method
  • Learn how to translate GC (MS) methods from helium carrier gas to hydrogen
  • Gain a better understanding of strategies and recommended columns and supplies that can be implemented to speed up your GC(MS) method and what is necessary to translate a method to a different carrier gas
AgilentWeb_220223_LPImage

Event overview

In today’s fast paced laboratory environment two factors can have a big impact on how productive a lab is: speed of application and efficient use of gases. While helium is a great carrier gas for gas chromatography, issues with availability or cost can cause a lab to look at other possibilities that may be available from gas generators, such as hydrogen.

This webinar will discuss how to properly transition your method from helium to hydrogen carrier gas, along with consumables that you may want to consider changing as well, such as using a HydroInert source or switching to smaller diameter columns. We will also talk about underutilized available ways to make your gas last, such as using Gas Saver. And finally, we will go over tips and tricks on how to speed up your overall analysis method, to help ensure high sample throughput and maintain data integrity. 

What you need to know:

Date: 22 & 23 February, 2023

Start Times: 
Broadcast #1: 22 February - starting at 10 am EST (New York) / 3 pm GMT (London) / 4 pm CET (Paris)
Broadcast #2: 22 February - starting at 11 am PST (Los Angeles) / 1 pm CST (Chicago) / 2 pm EST (New York)
Broadcast #3: 23 February - 8.30 am IST (Mumbai) / 11 am SGT (Singapore) / 12 pm JST (Tokyo)/ 2 pm AEST (Sydney) / 4 pm NZST (Auckland)

Duration: Approximately 1 hour

Presenters:

Vanessa Abercrombie
Gas Chromatography Applications Chemist, Agilent Technologies
Vanessa is GC Applications Chemist at Agilent Technologies in Folsom, California, USA. Vanessa has a broad background in GC and GC/MS, including experience as an instrument chemist at Bode Technology in Virginia working under contract to the FBI’s Laboratory Division. Prior to that, Vanessa worked for ETS Labs in St. Helena, CA as an Analytical Chemist where she researched and developed quantitative separations by GC/MS and UHPLC for beer, wine and spirits. She holds a Masters of Forensic Science from The George Washington University and a Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry from Sonoma State University.

Samuel Haddad
Application Development Chemist, Agilent Technologies
Samuel Haddad is a GC Application Development Chemist at Agilent Technologies in Wilmington, Delaware. Samuel specializes in GC and GCMS applications of trace analysis in environmental and heavy matrix samples. His specialty includes sample preparation techniques to separate analytes from matrix components and extraction from a wide variety of matrix including water, fish, aquatic life, soil, and complex fluids. Samuel holds a Ph.D. in Environmental Science from Baylor University and a B.S in Biology from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville.

Who should attend:
Laboratory technicians, researchers, and scientists wishing to learn more about how to keep their GC(MS) system clean.

Sponsor:

Agilent_Logo_RGB

 

Registrants to this webinar are covered by the Eclipse Business Media Ltd Privacy Policy. Information you provide will be shared with the sponsors for this content. Eclipse Business Media Ltd may contact you to offer you content based on your specific interests. You may opt-out at any time.