Turning up the Heat on Gas Chromatography: How to Successfully Perform High Temperature GC Applications without Breaking a Sweat

Separation Science, in collaboration with Agilent, offers an upcoming webinar that discusses the effect temperatures above 360 °C have on the integrity of the column phase and outlines strategies for more efficient and successful high temperature applications.

This webinar will broadcast three times - you can attend any one of these events:

Broadcast #1:
Date: 23 October, 2019
Start Time: 07:00 PDT / 10:00 EDT / 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST

Broadcast #2:
Date: 23 October, 2019
Start Time: 11:00 PDT / 14:00 EDT

Broadcast #3:
Date: 24 October, 2019
Start Time: 08:30 IST / 11:00 Singapore /
14:00 AEDT

Duration: Approximately 60 minutes

Presenter
Vanessa Abercrombie
(Gas Chromatography Applications Chemist, Agilent) 
Vanessa Abercrombie is GC Applications Chemist at Agilent in Folsom, California, USA. Vanessa has a broad background in GC and GC/MS, including experience as an instrument chemist at Bode Technology in Virginia working under contract to the FBI’s Laboratory Division. Prior to that, Vanessa worked for ETS Labs in St. Helena, California as an Analytical Chemist where she researched and developed quantitative separations by GC/MS and UHPLC for beer, wine and spirits. She holds a Masters of Forensic Science from The George Washington University and a Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry from Sonoma State University.

Sponsor

   

Register for this upcoming learning event ...

High temperature Gas Chromatography applications using fused silica columns can be problematic for applications that run above 360 °C. Even if a phase is stable enough to maintain extended periods of time above 360 °C, the polyimide coating on fused silica will eventually burn off, causing the column to become brittle.

We will examine what effect temperatures above
360 °C will have on the integrity of the column phase and brittleness of the column over extended periods of time. We will discover strategies for more efficient and successful high temperature applications, such as utilizing metal columns, and how long they are able to operate at temperatures up to 450 °C and still maintain their integrity. We will also discuss how selection of the right consumables and maintaining a leak free system is especially important in high temperature GC applications, and how to pick the right ones to have a successful and robust GC analysis.

This presentation will cover:

  • high temperature GC columns
  • maximum temperature limits
  • how to protect your column from oxygen
  • how to reach higher temperatures without sacrificing selectivity
  • when to switch to metal columns
  • which consumables are needed for high temperature applications.

By attending this presentation you will learn:

  • what the maximum operating temperature means
  • what can happen to the phase and fused silica when it is exceeded
  • how to successfully perform high temperature applications
  • how to elute up to C114

Why should you attend?

To gain better understanding of what high temperature gas chromatography means, when to use high temperature fused silica and when to switch to deactivated stainless steel GC columns, and
how gas quality and thermal stability can affect your chromatography at high temperatures.

PLUS - Participation Bonus: Register and attend the webinar to receive a special offer from Agilent.

Who should attend?

Laboratory technicians, researchers, and scientists wishing to learn more about high temperature GC best practices, consumables, and increase column lifetime for high temperature applications.

To register for this upcoming webinar simply complete the form on the right. By clicking the 'Register to attend live webinar' button, you submit your information to the webinar organizer, who as an independent content provider to analytical and laboratory scientists, will use it to communicate with you regarding this event and other similar platforms run in collaboration with other parties.

Registrants to this webinar are covered by the Eclipse Business Media Privacy Policy.