PRESENTATION & DISCUSSION FORUM
Helium Shortage 4.0:
Is hydrogen carrier gas the solution to the GC–MS problem?

Separation Science, in collaboration with
Markes International, offers an expert discussion event covering why switching from helium to hydrogen carrier gas may offer benefits for TD-GC/MS analysis.

Date: 14 September, 2022

Start Times:
Broadcast #1: 10 am BST / 11 am CEST /
2.30 pm IST / 5 pm SGT
Broadcast #2: 10 am PDT / 12 pm CDT / 1 pm EDT

Duration: Approximately 60 minutes

Presenters & Panellists:

DianeTurner_200Diane Turner
Director & Senior Consultant, Anthias Consulting Ltd
Diane has developed methods for, given support and training for companies in most industries around the world for more than 20 years. Diane holds voluntary roles with The Royal Society of Chemistry and other scientific organisations.

ChrisSiegler_200Chris Siegler
R&D, Dow Inc.
Chris has worked in R&D for Dow Inc. for 11 years. His focus is in providing analytical expertise and problem-solving capabilities using 1D & 2D chromatography and mass spectrometry techniques across Dow’s R&D and manufacturing businesses.

HelenMartin_200Helen Martin
Thermal Desorption Business Unit Manager, Markes InternationalHelen oversees R&D, application development and product marketing for the TD instrument range. Before starting her career with Markes, Helen gained a PhD from Loughborough University developing non-invasive sampling strategies for breath, skin and saliva for analysis by TD with GC-MS.

Moderator

MatthewKlee_200Matthew Klee
President, XO Associates LLC
Matthew consults on new technology innovation, strategic and tactical planning, product development, testing, commercialization, and market development. In addition, he develops and delivers general and customized technical training in analytical instrumentation use, method development, optimization, validation, and implementation. Previously, Matthew worked for 23 years in various roles at Agilent Technologies covering R&D, marketing, business development and management.

Sponsor:

Markes border

 

   

Event Overview

Fluctuating global helium levels are causing problems, such as difficulty sourcing helium and increasing costs, for the many industries that rely on it. Currently, this is having a serious effect on gas chromatography–mass spectrometry users, who use helium as a carrier gas, in many parts of the world. One solution to this problem is switching to an alternative carrier gas.

Alternative carrier gases (nitrogen and hydrogen) are more readily available than helium and can be used with gas chromatographs. However, there has been a barrier to their use in some analytical processes. Thermal desorption instruments, which preconcentrate samples down to a volume that is suitable for injection into the narrow gas chromatograph column, have only been able to run with helium or nitrogen as the carrier gas, but nitrogen is much less efficient than helium. Mass spectrometers have the same issue.

To combat these issues, manufacturers of thermal desorption and mass spectrometry instruments are upgrading to multi-gas systems, which enable analysts to switch between three gases – helium, nitrogen and hydrogen.

In this presentation and discussion forum, our panel of experts will talk about the pros and cons of using hydrogen as an alternative carrier gas and address audience questions.

You can submit your question(s) during the registration process.

 

To register for this upcoming event please complete the form on the right. 

Registrants to this webinar are covered by the Eclipse Business Media Privacy Policy.