Maintaining Sensitivity and Peak Shape on GC and GC/MS over Time

Separation Science, in collaboration with Agilent, offers an upcoming webinar providing solutions for maximizing sensitivity and maintaining peak shape of analyses on your GC or GC/MS system. 

Dates: 28 & 29 October, 2020

Start Times:

Broadcast 1: 28 October -7 am PDT (Los Angeles) / 10 am EDT (New York) / 2 pm GMT (London) / 3 pm CET (Paris)

Broadcast 2: 28 October - 11 am PDT (Los Angeles) / 2 pm EDT (New York) 

Broadcast 3: 29 October - 7:30 am IST (New Delhi) / 10 am SGT (Singapore) / 10 am CST (Shanghai) /
11 am JST (Tokyo) / 1 pm AEDT (Melbourne)

Duration: Approx. 1 hour

Presenters:
Angie Smith-80Angie Smith-Henry
(GC Applications Chemist, Agilent
Angie is is an applications chemist for GC and MS Supplies at Agilent in Wilmington, Delaware, USA. Previously, she was an applications chemist for the MSD Solutions and Applications group with a focus on developing analysers and applications for energy, chemical and environmental markets. Angie holds a PhD in Physical Chemistry from Lehigh University and BS in Chemistry from Juniata College.

Vanessa_100Vanessa Abercrombie
(GC Applications Chemist, Agilent
Vanessa is a GC applications chemist at Agilent in Folsom, California, USA. Vanessa has a broad background in GC and GC/MS, including experience as an instrument chemist at Bode Technology in Virginia working under contract to the FBI’s Laboratory Division. Prior to that, Vanessa worked for ETS Labs in St. Helena, California as an Analytical Chemist where she researched and developed quantitative separations by GC/MS and UHPLC for beer, wine and spirits. She holds a Master of Forensic Science from The George Washington University and a Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry from Sonoma State University.

 

Sponsor

   

Register for this upcoming webinar ...

Have you maximized the sensitivity of your analyses on your GC or GC/MS system? Are your peak shapes optimal, or do they tail and have shoulders? Matching the correct injection style, supplies, column type and column flow can bring an analysis to the next level.
This webinar will delve into the sensitivity of different GC detectors — yes, mass spectrometers (single quad and triple quad!) and non-MS detectors — and optimizing the GC supplies and parameters for the best separation and peak shape as the analytes head into the detector.

We’ll also compare column styles and carrier gas parameters, and then discuss troubleshooting steps for split and split-less injections – how to step back and check the problem source: parameters or instrument. Moreover, there is more to a mass spec than Scan; we’ll delve into SIM for the single quad and MRM for the triple quad with discussion on setting up parameters like dwell times and dynamic MRM.

What does it cover?

  • Sensitivity of non-MS and MS detectors
  • Understanding column flow (constant flow vs. constant pressure and why it matters)
  • Liner and column selection for select applications, such as pesticides applications across multiple detectors
  • Comparison of ms UI columns and bleed stability over time
  • Choosing and troubleshooting split or split-less injections
  • Using Scan/SIM and or MRM to maximize sensitivity and how to set up the parameters for SIM and MRM.

By attending this webinar you will learn...

  • about maintaining sensitivity and peak shapes in your analyses with a GC (and GC/MS) system through column selection and the correct injection and column flow styles
  • how to set-up your GC(MS) system to maximize the ability (and sensitivity) of the single quad and triple quad mass spectrometers with setting up SIM and MRM parameters.

PLUS - Participation Bonus: Register and attend the webinar to receive a special offer from Agilent.

To register for this upcoming webinar simply complete the form on the right. By clicking the 'Register to attend live webinar' button, you submit your information to the webinar organizer, who as an independent content provider to analytical and laboratory scientists, will use it to communicate with you regarding this event and other similar platforms run in collaboration with other parties.

 

 

Registrants to this webinar are covered by the Eclipse Business Media Privacy Policy.