Passive Sampling and Its Pivotal Role in ʹGreenerʹ Sampling of VOCs

Separation Science, in collaboration with Markes International offers an upcoming webinar that will introduce thermal desorption and discuss how the options available for passive sampling can be best applied to a variety of VOCs in a range of situations.

Date: 16 December, 2020

Start time:
7 am PST (Los Angeles) / 9 am CST (New Orleans) / 10 am EST (New York) / 3 pm GMT (London/Lisbon) / 4 pm CET (Paris/Berlin) 

Duration: Approximately 60 minutes

Presenter:

Nicola_Watson_new_80Nicola Watson
(Markes International)

Nicola has over 15 years’ experience in environmental air sampling with a special interest in the development and application of passive sampling technologies.

Sponsor:
Markes

 

 

Register for this upcoming learning event ...

Passive sampling of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) is employed by specialists working in occupational hygiene and personal monitoring, routine ambient air monitoring and fenceline monitoring of industrial sites.

Initially, the technique was used to monitor personal VOC exposure in the workplace using activated charcoal tubes followed by solvent extraction. However, by the late 1970s, scientists from the UK Health & Safety Executive's Committee on Analytical Requirements had developed a less hazardous and ‘greener’ method: axial passive sampling followed by thermal desorption (TD) of sorbent tubes. TD has several benefits compared to solvent extraction and since the adoption of axial passive samplers, many other passive samplers compatible with TD have been developed.

This webinar will introduce TD and discuss how the options available for passive sampling can be best applied to a variety of VOCs in a range of situations. The webinar will also discuss the advantages and disadvantages of each option, with tips and tricks for successful measurement.

By attending this webinar you will learn about:

  • The power of passive sampling and why it works
  • Challenges and how to overcome them
  • Application areas – established and emerging
  • Recent developments in passive sampling
  • Sampling and analysis technologies.

To register for this upcoming webinar simply complete the form on the right.

By clicking the 'Register to attend live webinar' button, you submit your information to the event organizer, who as an independent content provider to analytical and laboratory scientists, will use it to communicate with you regarding this event and other similar platforms run in collaboration with other parties.

Registrants to this webinar are covered by the Eclipse Business Media Privacy Policy.