PFAS Testing Solutions & How Best to Minimize External Contamination Sources

Separation Science, in collaboration with UCT, offers an upcoming webinar in which the presenter will  provide solutions for PFAS testing in line with the updated method, EPA 533 and explain what measures can be taken to mitigate external contamination sources.

The webinar will broadcast twice. Please attend the webinar that is most convenient for you.

Date: 28 July, 2021

Start times:
Broadcast #1: 10 am BST (London) / 11 am CEST (Paris)

Broadcast #2: 10 am PDT (Los Angeles) /
12 pm CDT (Chicago) / 1 pm EDT (New York)

Duration: 1 hour

Presenter:
Abder_80Abderrahim Abdelkaoui
(Head of R&D Lab, UCT


Abderrahim Abdelkaoui is head of the R&D lab at UCT, Inc. and has notable experience with sample preparation and analytical chemistry. Abder has been working under EPA guidelines to generate environmental applications, utilizing UCT's host of products and chemistries. Graduating from Temple University with a Biochemistry degree, Abder also contributes within the forensic and clinical arenas.

 

Sponsor:  
 UCT_logo

 

   

Event Overview

Per-and polyfluoroalkyl substances are a diverse group of synthetic organofluorine compounds widely used in industrial applications and consumer products. PFASs are persistent in the environment, are degradation resistant, and are known to bioaccumulate in humans and wildlife. PFASs have historically been analyzed in drinking water via EPA 537 (14 compounds) and 537.1 (18 compounds). In light of the EPA’s recent announcement on the fifth Unregulated Contaminant Monitoring Rule, which includes 29 PFASs, use of EPA 533 is set to become increasingly important to water testing labs. An updated method, EPA 533, will be presented for analysis of multiple short-chain PFASs, including telomers and precursor compounds, that cannot be measured via EPA 537.1. In addition, sources of external contamination in the start to finish analysis of PFASs will be reviewed, along with sample processing workarounds to protect the integrity of data generated and achieve desired detection limits.

By attending this presentation you will: 

  • achieve a fundamental overview of all existing and up and coming EPA regulated methods for the analysis of PFASs methods
  • assess various potential sources of background PFAS contamination within the testing methods and learn what measures can be taken to mitigate those
  • learn all start to finish PFAS testing resources UCT offers for this scope of analysis to include SPE consumables, processing manifolds, and analytical columns.

All attendees to this webinar will receive a 'Certificate of Attendance' for ongoing learning needs and professional development.

Registrants to this webinar are covered by the Eclipse Business Media Privacy Policy.