Quality Control of Hand Sanitizers: Analysis and Identification of Listed Impurities following USP <611> and ASTM D3695 Method Recommendations using Agilent GC

Separation Science, in collaboration with Agilent, offers an upcoming webinar describing the use of gas chromatography for effective alcohol analysis in hand sanitizer following USP <611> and ASTM D3695 method recommendations.

Dates: 15 & 16 October, 2020

Start Times:

Broadcast 1: 15 October - 7 am PDT (Los Angeles) / 10 am EDT (New York) / 3 pm BST (London) /
4 pm CEST (Paris)

Broadcast 2: 15 October - 11 am PDT (Los Angeles) / 2 pm EDT (New York)

Broadcast 3: 16 October - 9:30 am IST (New Delhi) / 12 pm SGT (Singapore) / 12 pm CST (Shanghai) /
1 pm JST (Tokyo) / 3 pm AEDT (Melbourne)

Duration: Approx. 1 hour

Presenters:
Jie_Zhang_100Zang-Jie
(GC Applications Chemist, Agilent
Zang-Jie is an application chemist for Agilent GC products. She joined Agilent in 2006 as an instrument chemist in R&D and changed her role to an application chemist in 2017. Currently she mainly works on application development in energy and chemical, environmental and food segments.

Vanessa_100Vanessa Abercrombie
(GC Applications Chemist, Agilent
Vanessa is a GC Applications Chemist at Agilent in Folsom, California, USA. Vanessa has a broad background in GC and GC/MS, including experience as an instrument chemist at Bode Technology in Virginia working under contract to the FBI’s Laboratory Division. Prior to that, Vanessa worked for ETS Labs in St. Helena, California as an Analytical Chemist where she researched and developed quantitative separations by GC/MS and UHPLC for beer, wine and spirits. She holds a Master of Forensic Science from The George Washington University and a Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry from Sonoma State University.

 

Sponsor

   

Register for this upcoming webinar ...

Are the compounds in the hand sanitizer what they are supposed to be? Our applications use Agilent GCs configured with an FID & J&W DB-WAX UI column to determine % alcohol and impurities.

Gas chromatography (GC) is one of the techniques recommended by USP for alcohol concentration determination. GC can also provide retention time information to verify the alcohol identity, ensuring that the hand sanitizer has not been contaminated. With the qualitative and quantitative analysis capability, Agilent GCs & J&W DB-WAX UI columns will continue to play a key role in the quality control of hand sanitizer.

The webinar focuses on USP <611> and ASTM D3695 methods for alcohol determination.

What does it cover?

  • Why use GC techniques for alcohol analysis in hand sanitizer?
  • Recommended GC configurations and consumables for alcohol analysis
  • Instrument performance on alcohol analysis in terms of analytical precision, accuracy and system suitability performance
  • Agilent chemical purity solution for ASTM 3606 and ASTM 3695
  • Smart connected instrument features.

By attending this webinar you will learn...

  • how to use GC techniques to help make quality control on the key components in hand sanitizer
  • how to choose the right GC consumables for the targeted analysis
  • how to evaluate the system performance
  • how to accurately qualify and quantify the targeted components in hand sanitizer.

To register for this upcoming webinar simply complete the form on the right. By clicking the 'Register to attend live webinar' button, you submit your information to the webinar organizer, who as an independent content provider to analytical and laboratory scientists, will use it to communicate with you regarding this event and other similar platforms run in collaboration with other parties.

 

 

Registrants to this webinar are covered by the Eclipse Business Media Privacy Policy.